The Highlander A-Z

Your definitive guide to the Highlander TV universe
  Season one (A1-A22) Season two (B1-B22) Season three (C1-C22) Season four (D1-D22) Season five (E1-E18) Season six (F1-F13) The Raven (R1-R22) Highlander: Endgame

Duncan receives a coded message from an old mentor that one of his mortal protégés is in danger from an ancient, war-mongering Immortal called Grayson. At the same time, he must kiss goodbye to Tessa and Richie as they prepare to relocate to Paris.

Production Notes
bulletProduction number: 92118-13
bulletOriginal US airdate: 8th February, 1993
bulletWritten by: Marie-Chantal Droney
bulletDirected by: Rene Manzor
bulletGuest Cast: Werner Stocker (Darius), James Horan (Grayson); Earl Pastko (Victor Paulus), Terry Howson (Hoestler), Peter Diamond (Brigand)

bullet1815, Waterloo, France
MacLeod encounters Darius on the battlefield at Waterloo, tending to the injured using ancient medical knowledge lost to humanity during the Dark Ages.
bullet1816, France
Leaves Darius after being unable to completely renounce violence. He reveals his plans to travel to the New World.

Other Immortals

bulletThis is the first of Werner Stocker's appearances as Darius. Werner hailed from Bavaria, and tragically died soon after the end of the first season in Munich.
bulletJames Horan is one of those genre veterans who pops up all over the place, especially in the Star Trek universe, where he's played characters in The Next Generation (two separate characters), Deep Space Nine, Voyager and Enterprise. Visit his official Fan Club page here.

For me, the first stand-out Highlander episode, with the flashbacks and characters of Darius and Grayson ushering in a new depth to the series.


Main index
The A-Z
Duncan's Timeline
Episode guide
Did You Know?

Season One list
Click on the link to go to that page

Seacouver episodes
A1: The Gathering (C+)
A2: Family Tree (C+)
A3: The Road Not Taken (B-)
A4: Innocent Man (B)
A5: Free Fall (D+)
A6: Bad Day in Building A (C-)
A7: Mountain Men (C+)
A8: Deadly Medicine (C)
A9: The Sea Witch (B-)
A10: Revenge is Sweet (C)
A11: See No Evil (C-)
A12: Eyewitness (C+)
A13: Band of Brothers (A-)

Paris episodes
A14: For Evil's Sake (C+)
A15: For Tomorrow We Die (B)
A16: The Beast Below (C+)
A17: Saving Grace (B)
A18: The Lady and the Tiger (C+)
A19: Eye of the Beholder (B+)
A20: Avenging Angel (A-)
A21: Nowhere to Run (B-)
A22: The Hunters (B+)

  Text copyright 2007 Nick Peers, Images copyright Panzer/Davis