The Highlander A-Z

Your definitive guide to the Highlander TV universe
  Season one (A1-A22) Season two (B1-B22) Season three (C1-C22) Season four (D1-D22) Season five (E1-E18) Season six (F1-F13) The Raven (R1-R22) Highlander: Endgame

A strange death at the Paris Opera reacquaints Duncan with the simple-minded Ursa. The pair first met in the 17th Century, when Duncan rescued him from a life of constant persecution and death from local villagers. Now the Highlander must convince his friend that the giant's love-of-his-life, an opera singer called Carolyn, is not what she seems...

Production Notes
bulletProduction number: 92123-16
bulletOriginal US airdate: 1st March, 1993
bulletWritten by: Marie-Chantal Droney
bulletDirected by: Daniel Vigne
bulletGuest Cast: Christian Van Acker (Ursa), Dee Dee Bridgewater (Carolyn), Werner Stocker (Darius); Fay Masterson (Jenny Harris), Francois Guetary (Detective), Joe Sheridan (Frank Wells)

bullet1635, France
Duncan comes across a group of villagers who are trying to kill a devil who refuses to stay dead. Mac rescues the Immortal and delivers him to a nearby abbey where he knows Ursa will remain safe from the Game in the centuries to come.

Other Immortals

bulletInspector LeBrun gets a rest this episode, as an unnamed detective takes on the sleuthing role.
bulletDee Dee Bridgewater is better known as a singer, and has a Tony Award from Broadway and was awarded two Grammys in 1998. She also campaigns on behalf of the UN for conservation and sustainable development in rural agriculture in poorer areas of the world. Her official Web site can be found here.
bulletFay Masterson is actually a British actress - an unofficial Web site dedicated to her is here.

This is Highlander's take on the Quasimodo legend, and sadly it doesn't quite pull it off. The back story for Ursa is convincing enough, as are his actions and motives throughout, but the attempt to squeeze Carolyn's motives and actions into the story are too rushed to be truly convincing. C+


Main index
The A-Z
Duncan's Timeline
Episode guide
Did You Know?

Season One list
Click on the link to go to that page

Seacouver episodes
A1: The Gathering (C+)
A2: Family Tree (C+)
A3: The Road Not Taken (B-)
A4: Innocent Man (B)
A5: Free Fall (D+)
A6: Bad Day in Building A (C-)
A7: Mountain Men (C+)
A8: Deadly Medicine (C)
A9: The Sea Witch (B-)
A10: Revenge is Sweet (C)
A11: See No Evil (C-)
A12: Eyewitness (C+)
A13: Band of Brothers (A-)

Paris episodes
A14: For Evil's Sake (C+)
A15: For Tomorrow We Die (B)
A16: The Beast Below (C+)
A17: Saving Grace (B)
A18: The Lady and the Tiger (C+)
A19: Eye of the Beholder (B+)
A20: Avenging Angel (A-)
A21: Nowhere to Run (B-)
A22: The Hunters (B+)

  Text copyright 2007 Nick Peers, Images copyright Panzer/Davis